University Committee on Admissions


a) Cooperate with the Vice President for Enrollment and the Faculty Senate in formulating admissions policies for recommendation to the President of the university.

b) Cooperate with and advise the Office of Admissions in reviewing recruitment strategies with regard to the kind of students we are seeking to attract and the evaluation criteria used in determining offers of admission.

c) Provide oversight, as appropriate, to the Office of Admissions in order to ensure that all admitted students are academically prepared for Rice. This includes review of the Office of Admissions' recommendations for admission of students recruited for athletics.

d) In conjunction with the Office of Admissions, report to Faculty Senate during the Fall semester on the general admissions process and results with regard to the new freshman class and transfers.

e) Request information from the Office of Institutional Effectiveness and other relevant offices (Registrar, Dean of Undergraduates), as appropriate, on the academic success of our students. Consult with the Vice President for Enrollment on how this information may be used to inform and improve our admissions process and policies.

f) Initiate the study of issues that may be of interest or concern to the general faculty regarding admissions procedures or policies. These issues may arise from the committee's work or be brought to its attention by Faculty Senate.

g) Recommend appropriate ways to increase faculty involvement in recruitment.

h) Prepare a brief, written report on the year's activities of the committee at the end of each academic year and submit copies of this report to the president of the university, the provost, and the Faculty Senate.

2020-2021 Membership

Name Role School/Dept
Alex Butler Chair Jones School of Business
Sylvia Dee Department of Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences
Dan Kowal Department of Statistics
Wei Li Department of Physics and Astronomy
Milivoje Lukic Department of Mathematics
Risa Myers Department of Computer Science
Nanxiu Qian School of Humanities
Rafael Salaberry Department of Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies
Helade Santos Center for Languages and Intercultural Communication
Tom Stallings Department of Sports Management
Tomasz Tkaczyk Department of BioEngineering
Geoffrey Scott non-voting liaison Shepherd
Adria Baker non-voting liaison Associate Vice-Provost of International Education
Yvonne Romero da Silva non-voting liaison Vice-President for Enrollment
Lindsay Josephs Undergraduate representative
Mark Abboud Undergraduate representative
Nicholas Collins Alumni representative

Updated August 5, 2020