University Committee on the Library


(a) Advise the University Librarian, the President, and the Provost on matters related to general policy regarding the university library. In addition, the Committee acts as a sounding board for proposed major changes and new services, and serves as a communication link between the library and the university community.

(b) Review and make recommendations with regard to policies and objectives of the university for the proper use of library resources by faculty, students, and staff; the enhancement of the faculty and student academic environment through effective use and support of the library; appropriate library support for research; and the enhancement of library resources and staff.

(c) Prepare a brief, written report on the activities of the committee at the end of each academic year and to submit copies of this report to the president of the university, the provost, and the Faculty Senate.

2022-2023 Membership

Name School/Dept
Cymene Howe, co-chair Anthropology
Peter Loewen, co-chair Music
Dominic Boyer Anthropology
Lee Ann Butler Business
Jamie Catanese BioSciences
Scott Colman Architecture
Jacqueline Couti Modern & Classical Languages & Cultures
Mike Fagan Computer Science
Uriah Kriegel Philosophy
Meng Li Statistics
Angel Marti-Arbona Chemistry
Michael Maas History
Fred Oswald Psychological Sciences
Christopher Sperandio Visual and Dramatic Arts
Nicole Waligora-Davis English
Matthew Wettergreen BioEngineering
Jennifer Wilson Staff representative
Danika Brown Staff representative
Bethany Johnson Staff representative
Sophie Chikhladze Undergraduate student representative
Mary Lowery Friends of Fondren Executive Director, non-voting liaison
Sara Lowman Vice Provost and University Librarian, ex officio
Amy Dittmar Provost, non-voting liaison
Anita Norwig Assistant Dean, School of Humanities, non-voting liaison
Peggy Roe Alumni representative

Updated September 7, 2022