University Committee on Fellowships and Awards


(a) To consider applications, interview candidates, and select nominees for various awards, scholarships, and fellowships for which Rice University has been invited by national foundations to submit nominations.

Recommendations made by members of the Committee are based on application materials and interview processes, and applicants are ranked according to the criteria set out by the funding organizations. Both academic excellence and the vision of candidates are the primary considerations in the nominee selection process for most scholarships and awards.

(b) To review applications, interview candidates, and screen or rank applicants for exchange programs, such as the Abraham-Broad Trinity Exchange.

(c) To determine recipients of endowed or other internal fellowships which are awarded to students continuing at Rice as undergraduates in the year of the award, or recent alumni, according to qualifications established for each fellowship.

(d) To work closely and in consultation with the Center for Civic Leadership fellowship advising staff to review criteria for awards, scholarships, and fellowships, determine a schedule for reviews and interviews, and promote award opportunities to the Rice community.

(e) The Chair of the Committee shall prepare a brief, written report on the activities of the committee at the end of each academic year and to submit copies of this report to the president of the university, the provost, and the Faculty Senate.

2020-2021 Members

Name School/Dept
Matthew Baring, Chair Department of Physics and Astronomy
Andrea Ballestero Department of Anthropology
Beth Beason Abmayr Department of BioSciences, Faculty Senate representative
Maria Bejan Department of Economics
Gwen Bradford Department of Philosophy
Amber Dermont Department of English
Leonardo Duenas-Osorio Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Robert Englebretson Department of Linguistics
Songying Fang Department of Political Science
Bilal Ghosn Department of BioEngineering
Arthur Gottschalk Shepherd School of Music
Gisela Heffes Department of Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies
Stephanie Leal Department of Psychological Studies
Steven Lewis Department of Asian Studies
Carolyn Nichol Department of Chemistry
Nancy Niedzielski Department of Linguistics
Fenglin Niu Department of Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences
Mallesh Pai Department of Economics
Alexander Regier Department of English
Geoffrey Winningham Department of Visual and Dramatic Arts
Stephen Zeff Jones School of Business
Danika Brown Center for Civil Leadership, non-voting liaison

August 6, 2020