(a) To coordinate all preparations for commencement and any other official function designated by the president, including (but not limited to) the activities of the physical plant and the Registrar's Office. To assure that members of the Board of Trustees, the faculty, and the graduates are guided through the ceremony.

(b) From time to time, as the need arises, to propose to the president changes in the graduation ceremony.

(c) To prepare a brief, written report on activities of the Marshals at the end of each academic year and to submit copies of this report to the president of the university, the provost, and the Faculty Senate.

Updated 2016


2021 Membership

Fred Oswald is Head Marshal this year. 

Marshals and Titles
Fred Oswald Head Marshal
James Weston Head Gradute Marshal
Jesse Chan Graduate Marshal
Alan Crane Graduate Marshal
Agustina Fernandez-Moya Graduate Marshal
Laura Segatori Graduate Marshal
Ashok Veeraraghavan Graduate Marshal
Pedram Hassanzadeh Graduate Marshal
Anna Rhodes Graduate Marshal
George Webb Head Undergraduate Marshal
Bobby Beaird Baker
Alma Novotny Will Rice
Nicholas Bourgeois Hanszen
Nick Espinosa Wiess
Kerri Barber Jones
Jamie Catanese Brown
Christopher Fagundes Lovett
Cam Yearty Sid Rich
Norma Santamaria Martel
Deidre Hunter McMurtry
Ian Schimmel Duncan
Dave Johnson Head Security Marshal
Tanner Gardner Security Marshal
Jorge Loyo Security Marshal
Ray Simar Security Marshal
Alberto Pimpinelli Security Marshal
Helen Toombs Security Marshal
Tracy Volz Security Marshal