University Committee on Research


(a) To serve as the primary committee for faculty to inform the administration of any problems and opportunities, including suggested policy changes, that relate to the ability of the faculty to engage in research and other scholarly activities

(b) To initiate studies of various aspects of research and other scholarly activities with the intent of improving the climate for these activities at the University and articulating faculty vision on research issues.

(c) To become familiar with the functions of the Office of Research and provide feedback to the Vice Provost of Research when requested.

(d) To assist the Faculty Senate by investigating issues brought to it relating to research.

(e) To provide feedback to the Research Administration Advisory Group when the opinions of a broad representation of faculty on research-related issues are needed.

(f) To prepare a brief, written report of the Committee’s activities at the end of each academic year and to submit copies of this report to the President of the University, Vice Provost of Research, Provost and the Faculty Senate.

2020-2021 Membership

Name School/Dept
James McNew, Chair Department of BioSciences
Juan Jose Castellon School of Architecture
Pat DeLucia Department of Psychological Sciences
Elaine Ecklund Department of Sociology
László Kürti Department of Chemistry
Moramay López-Alonso Department of History
John Mellor-Crummey Department of Computer Science
Andriy Nevidomskyy Department of Physics and Astronomy
Matteo Pasquali Department of Chemical and Biomolecural Engineering
Volker Rudolf Department of BioSciences
Eduardo Salas Department of Psychological Sciences
Mike Stern Department of BioSciences
Marina Vannucci Department of Statistics
Omid Veiseh Department of BioEngineering
Kerry Ward Department of History
Colin Zelt Department of Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences; Faculty Senate representative
William Turner ex officio, Assistant Vice-Provost for Research
Chris Mize ex officio, Environmental Health and Safety Office
Gladys Zubiria Fuentes non-voting graduate student representative
Jordin Metz non-voting graduate student representative

Updated August 6, 2020