The Rice University Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is a representative body of the university faculty formed to investigate, discuss, and decide on matters concerning the academic affairs of the university. It was approved for creation on February 28, 2005. The powers and duties of the Senate, the membership of the Senate, Senate elections, and required plenary faculty meetings are specified in the Constitution of the Faculty Senate. The Faculty Senate, ratified by the university faculty in plenary session, replaces the previous Faculty Council form of governance.

Faculty Wiki Page

The Faculty Senate uses a wiki site to share documents with senators and the faculty at large. Access requires login with a net ID.

If you have trouble accessing the wiki, please contact the Faculty Senate administrative assistant at

2022-2023 Senate Meeting Schedule

All meetings begin at noon and conclude no later than 2:00 p.m.

August 24, 2022
September 28, 2022
October 26, 2022
November 30, 2022
February 1, 2023
March 8, 2023
March 29, 2023
April 26, 2023

Senate Contacts

Allie Kieffer
Allie Kieffer

Faculty Senate Speaker, 2023-2024

Jus Lou
Jun Lou

Faculty Senate Deputy Speaker, 2023-2024

Jeff Hartgerink
Jeff Hartgerink

Convenor of Appeals and Grievances

Brandy McDaniel
Brandy McDaniel

Administrative Assistant to the Senate