University Committee on Examinations and Standing


(a) To interpret and enforce the academic regulations of the university while approving exceptions to them as circumstances warrant.

(b) To review periodically studies of these regulations with the purpose of improving them, simplifying them, and eliminating contradictions and inequities.

(c) To review any exceptions requested to a student's record at the time of graduation and report to the Dean of Undergraduates who will recommend to the faculty the list of graduates to be granted degrees.

(d) Prepare a brief, written report on the year's activities of the Committee at the end of each academic year and to submit copies of this report to the president of the university, the provost, and the Faculty Senate.

2020-2021 Membership

Name Title School/Dept
Patricia Reiff Chair Department of Physics and Astronomy
Margaret Beier Department of Psychological Sciences
Marya Cokar Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
David Cook Department of Religion
Cassandra Diep Department of Kinesiology
Fathi Ghorbel Department of Mechanical Engineering
Christopher Jermaine Department of Computer Science
Ben Kamins (as needed) Shepherd School of Music
Brian Ogren Department of Religion
Amanda Perkins-Ball Department of Kinesiology
Liz Petrick Faculty Senate representative Department of History
Tim Schroeder Department of Philosophy
Steve Semmes Department of Mathematics
Ric Stoll Department of Political Science
Stephen Wong Department of Computer Science
Tessa Schreiber Undergraduate Representative
Brittney Espinoza Undergraduate Representative

Updated August 5, 2020