University Committee on Faculty and Staff Benefits


  1. To review and evaluate the university's fringe-benefit policy and offerings, and to make recommendations for possible changes. In this context, fringe benefits are considered to be compensation-related and affect both faculty and staff. The committee concerns itself primarily with policy matters, but may evaluate program administration and performance of benefit-related services. The charge includes specifically:
    • The analysis of adequacy and cost-effectiveness of individual programs, including retirement, health, life, accident, or disability insurance;
    • The analysis of the adequacy of the scope and level of the benefit program as a whole:
    • Recommendations for the changes based on these analyses taking into account, as much as possible, the wishes of the faculty and staff as well as their willingness to bear costs;
    • The monitoring of insurance rates and recommendations for competitive bidding, when appropriate;
    • The evaluation of bids received and consequent appropriate recommendations.
  2. To prepare a brief, written report on the year's activities of the committee at the end of each academic year and to submit copies of this report to the president of the university, the provost, and the Faculty Senate.

2022-2023 Membership

Name School/Dept
Shelly Harvey, faculty co-chair Department of Mathematics
Bryn Dugre, staff co-chair EEPS Department Operations Administrator
Richard Boylan Economics
Eugenia Georges Anthropology
Pierre Jalbert Music
Mack Joyner Computer Science
Ching-Hwa Kiang Physics & Astronomy
Scott McGill Modern and Classical Languages and Cultures
Dan Wallach Computer Science
Yuhang Xing Business
Brad Fralic Associate VP and Controller, non-voting liaison
Joan Nelson Associate VP of Human Relations, non-voting liaison
Eno Oregbesan Director of Risk Management, non-voting liaison
Richard Baker Executive Director for Institutional Equity and EEO, non-voting liaison
Brad Blunt Director for Academic Processes
Abbey Godley Assistant Dean for Student Programs, School of Social Sciences
Andrea Lawrence Alumni Relations Coordinator
Ben Stevenson Operations and Planning Director, Baker Institute
Shawn Reagan Center for Civic Leadership Assistant Director
Lisa O'Connor Doerr Institute Executive Assistant
Carrie Willard Assistant Dean Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Updated August 3, 2022