PROMOTION AND TENURE COMMITTEE

The Promotion and Tenure Committee consists of up to eight members elected by the faculty and appointed by the provost as outlined in the Faculty Senate Resolution on the Promotion and Tenure Committee adopted on December 6, 2006. The committee members, in consultation with the department, the dean, the provost, and the president, review the candidate's promotion dossier and make recommendations to the president and the provost.

The Rice University Faculty Handbook provides a description of evaluation, promotion, and tenure processes along with references to the policy documents that govern those procedures.

Committee Membership

2020-2021

SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME EMAIL PHONE
Business 2021 James
Weston
westonj@rice.edu 4480
Engineering 2022 Illya Hicks illya.hicks@rice.edu 5667
Humanities 2022 Scott McGill smcgill@rice.edu 3206
Music & Architecture 2023 Gregory Barnett gbarnett@rice.edu 2174
Natural Sciences 2023 Carrie Masiello masiello@rice.edu 5234
Provost Appointment 2021 Lora Wildenthal wildenth@rice.edu 3526
Provost Appointment 2021 Anthony Várilly-Alvarado varilly@rice.edu 4829
Social Sciences 2021 Ashley
Leeds
leeds@rice.edu 3037
2019-2020
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME EMAIL PHONE
Business 2021 James
Weston
westonj@rice.edu 4480
Engineering 2022 Illya Hicks illya.hicks@rice.edu 5667
Humanities 2022 Scott McGill smcgill@rice.edu 3206
Music & Architecture 2020 Gordon Wittenberg ggwitt@rice.edu 3386
Natural Sciences 2020 Anatoly
Kolomeisky
tolya@rice.edu 5672
Provost Appointment 2020 Junichiro Kono kono@rice.edu 2209
Provost Appointment 2020 Volker Rudolf volker.rudolf@rice.edu 2834
Social Sciences 2021 Ashley
Leeds
leeds@rice.edu 3037
2018-2019
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME EMAIL PHONE
Business 2021 James
Weston
westonj@rice.edu 4480
Engineering 2019 Matthias
Heinkenschloss
heinken@rice.edu 5176
Humanities 2019 Helena
Michie
michie@rice.edu 2823
Music & Architecture 2020 John
Casbarian
jjc@rice.edu 5152
Natural Sciences 2020 Anatoly
Kolomeisky
tolya@rice.edu 5672
Provost Appointment 2019 Jun
Kono
kono@rice.edu 2209
Provost Appointment 2019 Bonnie
Bartel
bartel@rice.edu 5602
Social Sciences 2021 Ashley
Leeds
leeds@rice.edu 3037
2017-2018
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE
Engineering 2019 Matthias Heinkenschloss CAAM heinken@rice.edu 5176

Humanities

Humanities

2017 - 2018

2018 - 2019

April DeConick

Helena Michie

Religion

English

adeconick@rice.edu

michie@rice.edu

4995

2823

Jones Graduate School of Business

2019 Gustavo Grullon BUS grullon@rice.edu

6138

Natural Sciences 2020 Anatoly Kolomeisky CHEM tolya@rice.edu

5672

Social Sciences 2018 Mark Jones POLI SCI mpjones@rice.edu

2107

Music & Architecture 2020 John Casbarian ARCH jjc@rice.edu

5152

Provost Appointment 2018

Bonnie Bartel

BioSciences

bartel@rice.edu

Provost Appointment 2018

Cary Wolfe

English

cewolfe@rice.edu

2601
2016-2017
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE
Engineering 2019 Matthias Heinkenschloss CAAM heinken@rice.edu 5176
Humanities 2019 Helena Michie English
michie@rice.edu
2823
Jones Graduate School of Business 2019 Gustavo Grullon BUS grullon@rice.edu 6138
Natural Sciences 2017

Bonnie Bartel

BioSciences bartel@rice.edu 5602
Social Sciences 2018 Mark Jones

POLI SCI

mpjones@rice.edu 2107
Music & Architecture 2017 Carlos Jimenez ARCH carlos.jimenez@rice.edu 3320
Provost Appointment 2017 Ashutosh Sabharwal ECE ashu@rice.edu 5057
Provost Appointment 2017 Bruce Weisman CHEM weisman@rice.edu 3709/3294
2015-2016
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE
Engineering 2016 Ashutosh Sabharwal ECE ashu@rice.edu 5057
Humanities 2016 April DeConick RELI
adeconick@rice.edu
4995
Jones Graduate School of Business 2016 Gustavo Grullon BUS grullon@rice.edu 6138
Natural Sciences 2017

Bonnie Bartel

BioSciences bartel@rice.edu 5602
Social Sciences 2018 Mark Jones

POLI SCI

mpjones@rice.edu 2107
Music & Architecture 2017 Carlos Jimenez ARCH carlos.jimenez@rice.edu 3320
Provost Appointment 2016 Kathy Ensor Statistics ensor@rice.edu 4687
Provost Appointment 2016 Cary Wolfe English cewolfe@rice.edu 2601
2014-2015
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE
Engineering 2016 Ashutosh Sabharwal ECE ashu@rice.edu 5057
Engineering 2015 Danny Sorensen CAAM sorensen@rice.edu 5193
Humanities 2016 April
DeConick

RELI

adeconick@rice.edu

4995

Jones Graduate School of Business 2017 Jeff
Fleming
BUS
jfleming@rice.edu

4677

Natural Sciences 2017 Bonnie
Bartel

BioSciences

bartel@rice.edu

5602

Social Sciences 2015

Melissa
Marschall

SOC marschal@rice.edu

2694

Music & Architecture 2017 Carlos
Jimenez
ARCH

carlos.jimenez@rice.edu

3320
Provost Appointment 2015 Kathy
Ensor

STAT

ensor@rice.edu

4687
Provost Appointment 2015 Antonio
Merlo
ECON amerlo@rice.edu 4875
2013-2014
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT
Engineering 2015 Danny Sorensen CAAM
Humanities 2016 April DeConick RELI
Jones School of Business 2014 Thomas Hemmer BUS
Natural Sciences 2014 Kathleen Mathews BCB
Social Sciences 2014 Elizabeth Long SOC
Music & Architecture 2014 Benjamin Kamins MUSIC
Provost Appointment 2014 Naomi Halas ECE
Provost Appointment 2014 Peter Wolynes CHEM
2012-2013
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE
Engineering 2015 Michael S.
Wong
CHBE mswong@rice.edu 3511
Humanities 2013 Rosemary
Hennessy
ENGL, WGST

rosemary.hennessy@rice.edu

2333
Jones Graduate School of Business 2014 Thomas
Hemmer
BUS themmer@rice.edu 2044
Natural Sciences 2014 Kathleen
Matthews

BCB

ksm@rice.edu 4015
Social Sciences 2014

Elizabeth
Long

SOC elong@rice.edu 3483
Music & Architecture 2014 Benjamin
Kamins
MUSIC kamins@rice.edu 3339
Provost Appointment 2013 Lydia
Kavraki
Comp Sci,
BIOE
kavraki@rice.edu 5737
Provost Appointment 2013 Peter
Wolynes
CHEM,
Physics
& Astro.
pwolynes@rice.edu 4101
2011-2012
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE
Engineering 2012 Danny C. Sorensen CAAM sorensen@rice.edu 5193
Humanities 2013 Ussama
Makdisi
HIST

makdisi@rice.edu

2561
Jones Graduate School of Business 2014 Thomas Hemmer BUS themmer@rice.edu 2044
Natural Sciences 2014 Kathleen Matthews

BCB

ksm@rice.edu 4015
Social Sciences 2014

Elizabeth Long

SOC
elong@rice.edu
3483
Music & Architecture 2014 Benjamin Kamins MUSIC kamins@rice.edu 3339
Provost Appointment 2012 Cecilia Clementi CHEM
cecilia@rice.edu
3485
Provost Appointment 2012 Matteo
Pasquali
CHBE mp@rice.edu 5830
2010-2011
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE
Engineering 2012 Danny C. Sorensen CAAM sorensen@rice.edu 5193
Humanities 2013 Ussama
Makdisi
HIST

makdisi@rice.edu

2561
Jones Graduate School of Business 2014 Thomas Hemmer BUS themmer@rice.edu 2044
Natural Sciences 2014 Kathleen Matthews

BCB

ksm@rice.edu 4015
Social Sciences 2014

Elizabeth Long

SOC
elong@rice.edu
3483
Music & Architecture 2014 Benjamin Kamins MUSIC kamins@rice.edu 3339
Provost Appointment 2011 Cecilia Clementi CHEM
cecilia@rice.edu
3485
Provost Appointment 2011

Helena

Michie
ENGL michie@rice.edu

2823

2009-2010
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE

Engineering

2012

Danny C.

Sorensen


CAAM

sorensen@rice.edu

5193

Humanities

2010

Martin Wiener

HIST

wiener@rice.edu

4948

Management

2011

Vikas Mittal

MGMT

Vikas.Mittal@rice.edu

6234

Natural Sciences

2010

John Olson

BCB

olson@rice.edu

4861

Social Sciences

2012

Ted P. Temzelides

ECON

tedt@rice.edu

2129

Music & Architecture

2011

Gordon Wittenberg

ARCH

ggwitt@rice.edu

3386

Provost Appointment

2010

Rosemary
Hennessy

ENG

Rosemary.Hennessy@rice.edu

5790

Provost Appointment

2010

Bruce
Weisman

CHEM

weisman@rice.edu

3709

Note: Martin Wiener will serve the Spring 2010 semester, representing Humanities, and replacing Don Morrison, whose term expires in 2010.

John Olson will serve the Spring 2010 semester, representing Natural Sciences, and replacing David Queller, whose term expires in 2010.
2008-2009
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE

Engineering

2009

Kyriacos Zygourakis

CHBE

kyzy@rice.edu

5208

Humanities

2010

Donald Morrison

PHIL

donaldm@rice.edu

2714

Management

2011

Vikas Mittal

MGMT

Vikas.Mittal@rice.edu

6234

Natural Sciences

2010

David Queller

EEB

queller@rice.edu

2656

Social Sciences

2009

Simon Grant

ECON

sgrant@rice.edu

3332

Music & Architecture

2011

Gordon Wittenberg

ARCH

ggwitt@rice.edu

3386

Provost Appointment

2010

Rosemary
Hennessy

ENG

Rosemary.Hennessy@rice.edu

5790

Provost Appointment

2010

Bruce
Weisman

CHEM

weisman@rice.edu

3709

2007-2008
SEAT TERM EXPIRES NAME DEPT EMAIL PHONE

Engineering

2009

Kyriacos Zygourakis

CHBE

kyzy@rice.edu

5208

Humanities

2008

Cary Wolfe

ENG

cewolfe@rice.edu

2601

Management

2008

Jing Zhou

MGMT

jzhou@rice.edu

5330

Natural Sciences

2010

David Queller

EEB

queller@rice.edu

2656

Social Sciences

2009

Simon Grant

ECON

sgrant@rice.edu

3332

Music & Architecture

2008

Marcia Citron

MUSI

citr@rice.edu

3209

Provost Appointment

2008

James Faubion

ANTH

jdf@rice.edu

3384

Provost Appointment

2008

Edison Liang

PHYS

liang@rice.edu

3542

The Promotion and Tenure Committee was initially created by faculty approval of the 2005 Proposal for Governance Reform regarding the Promotion and Tenure Committee (link to http://www.ruf.rice.edu/~faccoun/ProposalPTReform.html is no longer available).