Faculty Senate Working Group on Admissions

The Faculty Senate of Rice University charges the Working Group on Admissions to:

  • Summarize current and past practices as to how the Office of Admissions at Rice receives and acts upon feedback on the undergraduate admissions process from the faculty, particularly the Faculty Senate and the University Committee on Admissions
  • Investigate how peer institutions configure their offices of admissions and manage their interactions with their university faculty
  • Determine  whether Rice’s University Committee on Admissions and its relationship with the Office of Admissions, as currently configured, functions as an effective body for communicating faculty feedback in the admissions process and for evaluating the response of the Office of Admissions to that feedback
  • Present a report for the Faculty Senate and make recommendations on the operations of the University Committee on Admissions, including whether the committee should continue in its current form, be discontinued, or be reconfigured in some way, possibly with a different charge, and/or membership


  • Pat Hartigan, Physics and Astronomy, Chair of Working Group
  • Alex Butler, Business, Recent Chair of Admissions Committee
  • Rudy Guerra, Statistics, Former Chair of Admissions Committee
  • Graham Bader, Art History
  • Fay Yarbrough, History
  • Vicky Yao, Computer Science
  • Xun Tang, Economics
  • Allie Kieffer, Shepherd School
  • Christopher Hight, Architecture
  • Mike Gustin, Biosciences