Working Group on Brown Teaching Awards (2009-2010)



  • To propose new procedures for the selection of the Brown Teaching Awards, the highest recognition of excellent teaching at Rice.
  • To recommend what body or committee should administer or carry out the procedures, and how the rewards should be announced and presented.


  • Ann Saterbak (BIOE, Chair)
  • Bridget Gorman (SOCI, Senate)
  • Ed Segner (CEVE)
  • Mark Kulstad (PHIL, Senate
  •  Geoff Winningham (ARTS)
  • Art Gottschalk (MUSI)

Read the report from the working group. The group presented their report and recommendations at the December 8, 2010 Faculty Senate meeting.