Faculty Senate Working Group on Research and Scholarship (2012-2013)

Charge: (1) To investigate the general efficacy and organization of the promotion and tenure process at Rice and (2) to determine whether the policy and guidelines are sufficiently clear.


  •  Janet Braam, Biochemistry and Cell Biology
  • Keith Cooper, ComputerScience
  • Michael Deem, Bioengineering
  • Mahmoud El-Gamal,Economics
  • Michael Emerson, Sociology
  • Richard Grandy, Philosophy
  • Randy Hulet, Physics
  • Steve Lewis, Baker Institute for Public Policy
  • Seiichi Matsuda, Chemistry
  • Vikas Mittal, Jones School
  • Jan E. Odegard, Ken Kennedy Institute for Information Technology
  • Fred Oswald, Psychology
  • Moshe Y. Vardi (chair), Computer Science

Read the recommendations from the working group. The report and recommendations were discussed at the November 13, 2013 Faculty Senate meeting.